CASE CLOSED … what really happened in the 2001 anthrax attacks?

* Excerpt about Batarfi’s purchase of equipment for anthrax lab director Yazid Sufaat

Posted by Lew Weinstein on April 25, 2011

******

******

6 Responses to “* Excerpt about Batarfi’s purchase of equipment for anthrax lab director Yazid Sufaat”

  1. DXer said

    Board Member: Where did you get all the information about the COLE and the embassy bombings?

    Detainee: It was from some patient that I treated or I know how they came to Pakistan and I discussed it with them. It was not a secret to me. They said the material was on the Shab and he expired at the Kandahar bombing and he was a guard for Abu Hafs Al Masiri Muhammed Atta. He was getting a lot ofinformation and he discussed it with me and I don’t have any problem discussing it with the authorities here just to discover who was behind it or the materials. Designated Military Officer (3.c.6): The detainee stated he met with a friend, a Yemeni merchant, in Islamabad, Pakistan, who facilitated the detainee’s travel into Afghanistan when the detainee fled Pakistan.

    Detainee: I said I had been to Afghanistan when I was seventeen and I know the rules. I stayed in Pakistan for twelve and halfyears, I know the language, the rules, the accent from area to area, and I know how to go myself, so there was no need for a Yemeni merchant to come from Yemen to guide me where to go and how to live. The only Yemeni guy which I knew in Pakistan and he was Omar al Hadrami and he’s not a Yemeni merchant, he’s a medical attendant. He’s bringing the patient to Doctor Aziz’s hospital. I only mentioned his name during the interrogation and I found it replaced with unknown Yemeni merchant.
    ***

    I ask for my AMO to be patient with me because I try to explain most of the things. I don’t want to be back to the same point again next year. Then be told one year more because I do not want to be here a second year without a reason. I am willing to help America in any place whether it be Yemen, Pakistan or any other country. I discuss this with my interrogators and they agreed to have me as a helper for the United States. I feel if! am away from GTMO, I can give so much more benefits for you than being here in detainee camp.

    Designated Military Officer (3.e.8): The detainee stated he saw Usama bin Laden four or five times at various guest houses and in person in Afghanistan.

    Detainee: I saw him twice. Usama bin Laden is not common to the guest houses because it is exposed to everyone. By chance, I saw him in the graveyard at Kabul. I meet him again in Tara Bora when I stopped in the mountains. It was not to four to five. It was only two times. It was handled by Usama bin Laden people or Usama bin Laden himself. I did not ask to meet him or was not planning to meet him.

    Designated Military Officer (3.c.9): The detainee stated he talked to Usama bin Laden on two separate occasions in Afghanistan.

    Detainee: I think we just talked about that. Designated Military Officer (3.c.10): The detainee stated that at a meeting in the Tora Bora Mountains in Afghanistan, Usarna bin Laden requested the detainee help supply medicine to the Tora Bora region.

    ***

    Designated Military Officer (3.d.I): The detainee stated he purchased 0.5 kilograms of cyanide that he claimed was stolen from a warehouse in Kabul~ Afghanistan and was never recovered.

    Detainee: It was for scientific. It was pharmaceutical cyanide used for dental filling. We got a dental list and cyanide was part of it. This was used for the nerve root. It killed the bacteria by very old method which is cyanide. It does not harm the person or poisonous. I sent this with my trucks to Kabul from Kandahar and Kandahar to Kabul. It was not present at the warehouse when I inspected. … It was not the serial cyanide which can cause harm.

    Designated Military Officer (3.d.2): The detainee stated he told another al Wafa volunteer to purchase four to five thousand United States Dollars worth of medical equipment presumably for the Malaysian microbiologist.

    Detainee: Transport was the problem from Afghanistan to Pakistan. I had 200 dollars American money in my pocket I was attacked by the police rebels. They took my money from me. I ask the Malaysian guy if he had the five thousand American dollars to purchase this equipment for the lab. It is very dangerous to cross the border after buying it. At the border~ they can take your supplies or snatch the supplies from you. We now have a worker for al Wafa. He can purchase the equipment in the amount of five thousands dollars. When you return back to Afghanistan and build your lab you can repay him the money. It was a matter of transporting the money. The al Wafa worker went to Karachi to purchase it. I called al Wafa people and asked for him not to purchase it because the border was closed. I asked for him to stay ten to fifteen days to see if border would open or to see if they allow anything to pass border into Pakistan. If the procedure becomes too complex to cross border, he would have to go to Malaysia to purchase….

    Board Member: What kind of equipment was he going to purchase? What was it for?

    Detainee; It was for medical lab. It was for blood analyzing like sodium/potassium and sodium chloride. One of the machines was a photometer which is about 3,500 American dollars. The amount of four to five thousand American dollars, it was sufficient for three ISN627
    to four pieces ofequipment with maximum of five. It was going to be very small lab according to its capacity. I was astonished when I sent him. The man I sent was a volunteer. He was a microbiologist. He said the Shab did not know the basic lab technique. So, he was sent to Karachi University Lab to get the training for ten to fifteen days to know how to do blood test. I told you he was just in second year. He was fresh and did not know how to do lab technique.

    Designated Military Officer (3.d.3): The detainee stated he stayed in the Tara Bora Mountains in Afghanistan until he was severely wounded. A group of Afghans took him to the Central Jail in Jalalabad, Afghanistan. The next day he was taken to the hospital where he was treated for over four weeks then returned to jail. The detainee stated he asked to be turned over to United States Forces so he would receive better treatment. The detainee was taken to Bagram, Afghanistan on 27 January 2002.

    Detainee: No comment about it. We were treated very badly in jail there. I felt I would be treated better in any other place besides thatjail in Afghanistan. It was jail since the time of 1935. It was old, dirty, nasty, no food.. I had very big hole in my lung through my chest. It was almost infected. I met the Americans there which were interrogators. I requested to be taken to better area. I was not cured yet. I had broken ribs, lacerated lung, and splenetic tear. I was in serious condition but they still sent me to jail. There was no accurate management in the jail. I had chest tabulation with ajar. The authorities said the jar weighed about four to five kgs full ofblood which was too much. They said I was planning to escape. So, I said it was better to go with the Americans to a secure place instead of being charged and going through these problems. The chained me to the bed badly and they would inquire about my condition. I said it is better to be with the Americans to fInalize all this drama.

    Board Member: Why did they take you to the jail not the hospital?

    Detainee: They came to us some through the Tora Bora village. We need to purchase diesel to take you to the hospital. Board Member: I don’t understand say that again. Detainee: On the mountain ofTora Bora, the authorities came to us and said, we need the price ofdiesel. We have no diesel to send you to the hospital. They tried to get money and tried to take everything by any means possible. This is why they did not treat us. Afghanis they said, you are here to die not to be treated. For this reason I was pleased to be with Americans instead of with the fighters because there was fighting all the time around us. We said to them twice that we are not fighters and want to be sent to our consulate or have someone from our embassies to surrender ourselves to them.

    Designated Military Officer (3.d.4): The detainee stated he traveled to Herat, Afghanistan, likely after 11 September 2001, to pick up three trucks to be used by al ISN627 Enclosure (4) Page 23 of26 UNCLASSIFIED”~ 00002473 2473 UNCLASSIFIEDIlFOt:TCi Wafa as ambulances. Al Wafa paid approximately 15,000 United States Dollars for the three trucks. Detainee: They were nonnal vans. I converted them to ambulances. I donated them to the teaching department at University ofKabul hospital. This is a 400-bed hospital. The hospital had only one ambulance used for the administration. It was used to pick up and take the workers ofthe hospital. So, I decided to purchase three ambulances. There were some donations coming from Saudi Arabia. Saudi Arabia sent dental chair, five baby incubators, blood machine, CAT scan”machine, cardiac monitors, and other equipment. Saudi Arabia had asked me to go and inspect these items to see ifit was valid to keep it at Herat or send it to the center ofthe city ofKabul. I found there was no technician to work CAT scan machine. I ask them to transfer the CAT scan from Herat to Kabul. I supervise the purchasing ofthe all vehicles. The total donation was five ambulances, two machines from Kabul, and three purchases from Herat. I went to Kabul by vehicle with my son driving to check the vans. Designated Military Officer (4a): The detainee denied having any knowledge of biological agents or ever having discussed biological agents with anyone.

    Detainee: I started to discuss this with my interrogators in detail. The interrogators said, they are going to take my name from the list of anthrax. The United States have had my name on the list for the last two to three years but now you have the factors to omit it. It was anthrax due to the microbiologist and I don’t think every microbiologist can produce harm to United States. So, I’m glad to have my name out and I would like not to discuss this scary issue no more either with them or anyone else.

  2. DXer said

    Batarfi:

    “I recently came to know through here that the one who sent the anthrax to the United States or the one who knows the man that they was the Pakistani shah. His name is Tahar Butt Kashmeri and I mentioned it to my interrogators and I discuss it with my AMO last time. I came to know who was behind the anthrax and so it wasn’t the Malaysian guy. It was not only the anthrax issue we came to know about the material that was used to blow up the USS COLE. I gave a lot of my information to my interrogators regarding a very sensitive point. I never discussed with this Malaysian guy about any germs or a very sensitive point.”

    Who is Tahar Butt Kashmeri?

    • DXer said

      Dr. Batarfi says he came to know who sent the anthrax to the United States or the one who knows the man. I believe that the correct way to understand the transcription of his oral comment is that it was the Pakistani shah who knew the mailer’s identify. His name is Tahar Butt Kashmeri. So who was Tahar Butt Kashmeri?

      Dr. Batarfi was released to Yemen. Was that a reward for his cooperation?

      Or was he one of the Penny Lane recruits. Someone should interview Dr. Batarfi.

      Dr. Batarfi could explain Abu Ghaith’s role in authorizing funds for procurement in the WAFA organization.

  3. DXer said

    Transcript from Round 1 of the Administrative Review:

    UNCLASSIFIED

    Detainee: They put my case with the Malaysian guy because he was a microbiologist. But now I found they claim he was with anthrax field. So I did not know anything about this charge. He was a student who did not complete his studies and he was in Afghanistan for only four months to work with the technicians about the lab test. Board Member; Yes, but doctor in the course of your medical training and certification, you never received instruction in medical school regarding the affects of anthrax, plague, or fever? Detainee: Yes, but since I graduated I have worked in the surgical field. The three and a half to four years in Orthopedics, it was never in medicine or microbiology. I don’t train in microbiology or biological agents. Board Member: Yeah, but you received some training in microbiology in medical school. Correct? Detainee : Yeah, but microbiology is not the producing of biological items. It was only for urine test and blood test, some very simple procedures. It was in the second year. Board Member. Yeah but you studied the certain effects of pathogens on the human body?
    Detainee: I studied it very well but it was on a practical class I took for one hour a week. We did not study microbiology in great detail because it was a minor subject. It was anatomy and physiology, and microbiology was considered a part of the physiology. Board Member: But you learned how to prepare cultures in Petri dishes correct? Detainee : The cultures , we only studied how to examine them. How to prepare them was only for the technicians, Designated Military Officer: (4.b) The Detainee stated he did not attend any training camps in Afghanistan, as he was a doctor not a fighter. Detainee: I said to them before, if I lay down during the bombing maybe I will get some shrapnel in my chest because I was sitting all the time. Even during the bombing I was sitting with the bag. I was walking for about two to four hours and I was chunky and obese. I was stuck in the mountains with those who didn’t receive training themselves. They ape from Jatalabad to the mountains. Presiding Officer. Sir, you did not receive any training? Detainee: Not at all. Presiding Officer: Okay, thank you. ISN 627 Enclosure (6) Page 17 of 20

    • DXer said

      From Round 2 Summaries:

      3. The detainee stated he met the Taliban Minister of Health during his trip to Afghanistan in June 2001 to seek permission for employment and to facilitate the distribution of medicines and supplies. 4. The detainee stated he met a Malaysian microbiologist at the Haji Habbash Guest House in Kandahar, Afghanistan in August 2001. 5. The same microbiologist was involved in developing anthrax for al Qaida. 6. The detainee stated he met with a friend, a Yemeni merchant, in Islamabad, Pakistan, who facilitated the detainee’s travel into Afghanistan when the detainee fled Pakistan. 7. The detainee’s friend was a member of al Qaida and in overall control over the movement of al Qaida fighters and their families from Afghanistan through Pakistan. 8. The detainee stated he saw Usama bin Laden four or five times at various guest houses and in person in Afghanistan.

  4. Old Atlantic said

    These are two copies of page 19 of 26?

Leave a Reply

 
